Premed 101 Forums

Chances of Admission for an Engineering Student

Hey everyone,

I have already submitted my OMSAS application this year, for UofT, Queens, UWO, NOSM and McMaster. I just wanted to get your opinion on the probability of me getting an interview or admission to UWO med school.

I know that there some people on this forum who are knowledgeable about the admission stats so hopefully I'll be able to get useful feedback.

I'm an electrical engineering graduate of UofT, with bioengineering minor. I also took a few life science courses as part of bioengineering minor program and a few life sciences courses on the side (from UofT, Ryerson and Athabasca). I am currently a resident of North Ontario (Sudbury)

My cGPA is 3.83 (OMSAS scale), and my MCAT score is 36R (VR 10, PS 12, BS 14) for the second take. First time MCAT take was 31P, with a 7 in VR, which is probably the reason why I got rejected from all schools I applied to last year.

I have about 3 years of undergraduate research experience, 1 in engineering/computer research with a published paper, and 2 years in medically oriented computer science research.

I'd really appreciate any feedback, and hope I didn't bug you with the extra-long description of my background

Cheers,

another premed

PS: I'm also posting a similar message across the boards for the other schools I applied to. Hope this does not annoy anyone :)

• 3 months later...

UofT undergrad average gpa was around 3.95-3.97 (the 30% of the class with grad degrees on average have much lower gpas, lowering the class average to 3.90). McMaster has a cGPA average of around 3.91 - bit while i think it will drop, with ONLY the verbal being considered from the mcat and about 33% of the evaluation process, a cGPA of only 3.83 and a verbal of 10 probably means doom.