Premed 101 Forums

Chances of obtaining interview/admission

Guest bradfullmer44

Guest bradfullmer44

Hi there,

I was wondering if you guys could give me a sense of how competitive someone with my application would stand in the UofT medicine application process. I only ask because I need to plan out my next summer well in advance due to personal circumstances, and I may need to re-write the MCAT etc.

I am in my 3rd year of undergraduate at UofT, and I applied this year for UofT medicine. My OMSAS converted GPA for my first two years (not counting summer course) is 3.94. My MCAT results are 8V-11PS-13BS-Q. I have good to very good extracurriculars, with a good blend of research, clinical, artistic, and a little bit of student government and sports thrown in. I think I wrote a good essay.

How have others with a similar application fared in the past? If I fail to get in to Toronto this year, would you recommend that I re-write the MCAT next August in order to qualify for schools like Western and Queen's?

Thanks a bunch.

Guest ThugJaan

Hey,

Our current 0T5 class has quite a few 3-year grads (like yours truly). While your verbal score will kill your Queens/Western hopes, it won't make a lick of difference at UofT. Your GPA is just fine; most people I have met have at least a 3.90, although some did get in with even as low as 3.80.

As long as you wrote a competent essay and your sketch is reasonable, I see no reason why you will not be granted and interview.

Guest Akane200

There's no need to rewrite the mcats. You've made it to the "8" cut offs (which are the bare minimums). You may have wanted to be better, but there's nothing you can do about that now. Your omsas gpa are enough to get an interview (very good!). The rest of your profile seems fine. I will not try to judge the "competitiveness" aspect since I'm not sure how they are going to evaluate that. However, I had similar gpas when I applied.