Premed 101 Forums

BS/MD Programs

Viggy

hey everyone. I am a high school student in Windsor. The other day I was just on the Web, looking up random stuff and I learned that there are lots of BS/MD programs in the US. I only new about the one at Wayne State, since it's right across the border and if your on their site its easy to find about it. However, i never knew about all these other programs.

Some of these programs are accelerated 6 or 7 year programs that guarantee you med school acceptance if you meet the basic requirements (nothing ridiculous, just really low requirements usually so you are guaranteed). http://services.aamc.org/currdir/section3/degree2.cfm?data=yes&program=bsmd

-So, what are the Pros and Cons of these programs?

-When should people be applying if you are a Canadian resident?

and whatever else you know would be appreciated. I will be applying next year, so there's no rush or anything.(u have to apply in like november or earlier....really early lol) i just wanted to make a thread with open discussions on this topic.

***this thread wouldn't really mean much to current undergrad students as you apply right out of high school, but if you know anything pls. post

You would be absolutely ridiculous to attempt to go this route.

Consider: