Premed 101 Forums

MCAT Advice???

Rhizoid

Hi Everyone,

I'm first time poster and I am in desperate need of some advice.

I am in my second year and recently bought a bunch of MCAT books as I plan on writing the beast this summer. (August 2009). I will have finished all of my bio, chem, o-chem after this year and the only one ill be missing is physics. I took physics through grade 12 and am sitting in on the second half of the intro physics course at my uni this semester. I was told that taking physics isn't a must so im trying to study for it on my own.

I got the EK series, EK 101 verbal, and EK 1001 Bio. The bio doesn't seem to bad and im getting about 80% of the questions right without even studying. However, I just did a few of the intro verbal reasoning passages and got completely owned. I don't even want to say my score cause its so pathetic, but I will. I got 6/17 right.

:(

I've never done that bad on anything in my life. I've always believed that working hard= Improvement but I'm really worried about this. Can you improve alot from a 6/17 initial verbal?

My question is how long it takes to see improvent in verbal reasoning? This was the first three passages I have ever done and I tried to do them in the time limit- 25 minutes. Í'm trying to study physics this semester on top of my 5 other classes and I don't know if I will be able to fit in verbal practice until the summer.

All im shooting for on this thing is a 30. Doesn't have to be balanced as im not looking at going to a school that uses cut offs (Well, hopefully I get above 8 in each section at least). My GPA is really good and my EC's are VERY good as well. I'm just worried that this stupid verbal section/MCAT will keep me from my dream.

Thanks for any advice.

Hey there Rhizoid,