Premed 101 Forums

completely lost about where to start..

LostLamb

Hi all,

I am intending to write the MCAT again at the end of May as my current scores are stale for most schools. I am at a bit of a loss as to where to start. I took all the prereqs about 8-10 years ago and took the paper-based MCAT a year after I graduated. I had a reasonable score for that time but not compared to the 33+ scores that many people are generating today.

I am fresh out of a grad degree in cellular biology, so I am still in the 'researching and studying' frame of mind, but most of the first and second year sciences are foreign to me now. I have old Kaplan books and practice exams (2003) and some EK materials, but am wondering if they would be sufficient alongside doing AAMC practice exams?

I am already freaking out and I have barely cracked the books (started with OChem since it was my nemesis on the original exam). Are there some newer materials that I should put some money out for? I read over SDN's forums for advice but it seems that most people there are recent graduates or current undergrads, so their needs are somewhat different than mine because the content is fresher in their minds.

Any guidance or suggestions would be very much appreciated.

thanks,

LL

ps. I already intend to make practice a cornerstone of my preparation. I don't think I did enough practice exams the first time around.

I would avoid Kaplan like the plague.

For me, biology was the tough spot and the Princeton Review biology overview was an excellently written resource. My advice to you would be to focus on actual practice questions and write down problem areas. There are about 9 or 10 practice exams availible online, and I did one every day for about a week and a half before, excluding the final day. Be sure to warm up your brain with some medically related readings every once in a while.