Premed 101 Forums

MCAT prep+ full time research Job= ?

numero0121407

Hey guys,

I was wondering if anyone can give me adivce on this. I am very sorry if its a repeated question but I really feel I could personalize my case a little more...

I am currently a 3rd year student. My GPA isn't stellar and I've written MCAT once and I got 24R so I want to write again this summer...

I've been volunteering at a research lab since last summer (during mcat prep) and I would work for 4-6 hours there then go to MCAT course class and whatever time (and energy) I had left, I'd use to study lol

Now after having volunteered for so long, my supervisor wants me to work with her in the summer. She said even if other people have a higher GPA, I still have the advantage of knowing how things work and so on and she would really want me to apply...Not only that, she also kept telling me, you are interested in medicine, this is what you gotta do, people are very competitive and its hard for me to give you a really good reference letter if there's no real project to talk about....

Now im so unsure what to do? Should I go for this full time project that takes up the entire summer (May- August) while I study and do MCAT sometime August?

I want to apply to western and Queens so my MCAT score has to be solid but I also need some solid research experience...and now Im so not sure what to do? What do you guys think?

i have done it, the first time w/ a full time research position and the 2nd time as a part-time. I'd say it's doable, but u prolly have to study really hard to pull ur mcat up to western or queen's cutoffs...

ur mcat course last summer didn't seem to have benefited u a lot, maybe consider switching to another resource?

and I think having a research position helps a lot, not only u get experience that u can share during ur interviews but also ur prof can write u a good letter (if they care..), so I say u should do it, not everyone gets opportunities like that

good luck!