Premed 101 Forums

Inquiry about NSERC

Valcrimo

I'm a first year student at University of Toronto and I'm very intersted in getting some research experience. My understanding is that NSERC and the many other research scholarships are heavily based on your GPA.

I made the horrible decision to let my work ethic slip for the first bit of first semester and ended up with a 3.15 in two of my half credit courses. With that being said, I've smartened up and I'm getting 4.0 (90+) in all my second semester courses and am slowly making my way to a 3.7-3.9 in the two full year courses that I am taking. I anticipate a GPA of around 3.8 for my first year consisting of 6 half year courses and two full year courses.

I'm wondering if NSERC takes into account summer course marks (since I know medicine at UofT does not). I'd really like a way to boost my average to make me competitive for research scholarships.

Thanks in advance!!

Valcrimo, you need to get yourself together. The reason why you received few replies in your other thread is simple: You were simply posting question after question without waiting for replies. At least half the posts in that 4 page long thread are yours!

Don't post the same question in multiple forums of the same board.

And to answer your question (which was already answered in your other thread), 3.8 is enough to enter Summer research in most places and you will probably submit your transcript so your summer courses would be mentioned on that.

Also, priority is given to second and third year students.

And prior volunteer experience in a lab does help.

Doing research without getting paid is often necessary before you get a paying research job. Potential supervisors like to see that you are capable of being a good researcher before they pay you to do it.

You can certainly do research without getting an NSERC. There are other sources of funding besides NSERC.