Premed 101 Forums

Chances & Early Decision

Guest rapoune

Guest rapoune

Hey guys,

New to the board here... I am currently in U2 (3rd year) of undergraduate study at McGill in Microbiology & Immunology. I want to apply to McGill for medicine as it is my top choice for a variety of reasons. I am also a Quebec resident (born & raised!).

I know that McGill offers early decision to applicants and after speaking recently with someone from the admissions office they told me that I was elegible academically, but of course my extracurriculars and PS would also be taken into account. Mr. Dansereau also told me that if I were to get an early decision interview I'd have the most senior interviewers who are apparently a lot more "harsh".

I was wondering if anyone here has gone through early decision or who knows someone that got in through it. My GPA is currently 3.95 (hopefully to be around this by the end of the semester) and my MCAT is 33Q. From the looks of it, it seems as though there are applicants here with much higher MCAT scores so I am wondering if perhaps I am at a disadvantage if others are applying for early decision as well.