Premed 101 Forums

mcat scores...should I bother applying?

Guest docofmedicine

Guest docofmedicine

So I really want to apply to McGill & would love to return to Montreal. I know I would make a strong applicant, aside from the dismal MCAT scores:

27R (8VR, 8PS, 11 BS) |I

But my GPA is 3.90. I've been volunteering at a hospital for the past 3 years, had several leadership positions in university and I am engaged in a research project at Vanderbilt U for the past 2 summers for which I can get great reccs. Although I'm attending an American university I'm still considered a QC resident. I've also taken the pain of an additional minor in French b/c I thought it might help.

I know that most of the students admitted have a combined MCAT score of 30. I'm not sure if McGill has cutoff for this year. Anyway, have there been students in the past with scores less that 30? Should I even bother applying? help me out here :(

Guest med2006McGill

I think there's no harm in applying, especially when you are a Quebec resident. I have heard that if your GPA is excellent and every other aspect of the application is excellent, then they might interview you with a score below 30. Certainly, Canadian schools don't place as much emphasis on MCAT scores as American schools. Why don't you try applying? If you want to increase your chances, you can also consider retaking the MCAT.

Guest cutieyellow

McGill has a written policy somewhere that the cutoff is 30, and that they will not accept anyone under that number. Therefore, with my 29Q, i didn't bother applying. I figured, what's the point, when the computer probably automatically generates rejection letters if you don't have those cutoffs (3.5 GPA, 30 MCATS).

THEN, of course, i find out that there were people that got 29s and that made it. Great. Therefore, my advice is, apply, you don't really have anything to lose except for money and time :) Which isn't that much if you get an acceptance letter!

Good luck !

CY