Premed 101 Forums

Research-Confused

boobiman

hey guys,

need some advice. Im not too informed about the whole research deal so wondering if you guys can help. So I had this interview today with a doctor at a govt funded brand name research institute. It looks as if she is willing to keep me but heres the problem.

-The research position is going to be volunteering not paid

-Huge time commitment 9-5 for 3 months

-The commute takes a good hour and a half

-Cant take orgo or study for the mcat (no i cant handle both research and other stuff)

What should i do? Also, how does the publication thing work? Should I ask her about it?

Thanks

ps. Im pretty sure there a sticky or thread out there that explains all this buut i realized this after typing the above so might as well press the submit button. lol

I have no experience whatsoever in research, so I am not much help there. I have just interviewed for 3 med schools in Quebec where essentially all you need is excellent academics and to be alive, lol, to get to the interview stage.

FRom what you say, I believe your priority is MCAT. I spent 3 mo fulltime las tsummer studying for MCATs, my studies are science based, I am a straight A student, and I did not do well on MCAT. So, outside Que, except for U/Ottawa and one other, MCAT is required and this is your priority.

Assuming I am right, and if you would be better off not doing this research position with the horrensous daily commute, you can make your demands b/c you really don't care and you are in a strong position. Of course, you can be dismissed by the potential researcher, then again, she may need you badly and be prepared to bend.

Personally, I wouldn't take it as it can ruin your pathway. Be careful what you wish for b/c you may get it. What if you receive an offer? Will you take it? Trwad carefully. MCAT for you is essential. Research is merely icing on a cake - but if you poorly on MCAT, there may be icing, but the cake is not in great shape.