Premed 101 Forums

Yorku English

Hi everyone,

Has anyone ever taken an english course at YorkU? Any recommendations (interesting and easy courses)? I am looking into taking something this summer or even next year, just need to get that prerequisite completed to apply to American schools. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Hey,

I just completed the full year English course at Glendon Campus 1520 for American medschools. If you're looking for a full year courseload, that's the one to choose. There's a bunch of 3 credit courses at the Keele campus.

How was the course? I was looking into that class :) I'm doing my thesis and orgo next year so I want all my other courses to be 'easy' (though I heard English classes are hard)!

Charmer08 - I believe that as long as its a 6 credit course from the english dept, it should be fine. Can anyone else verify that?

Wrighm6 - can u please let us know how EN 1520 was? Was it an easy course? Who was your prof and how was your experience with that prof? Would you recommend this prof? I don't mind commuting to Glendon as long as its an easy course. Please do let us know.

Hi,

I took 1st year Physics and English at York this year, and I found them both really easy. Not sure if it was because York is easier than McMaster or because they were really easy courses, but I never had to put in much of an effort. And this is saying something because I never wanted to take English again after grade 12 as I found it so hard.

I think as long as it's a 6-credit course it's ok, but I made sure that it contained some literature and poetry. 1520 is the only 1st year continuous 6 credit English course at York. You could take an upper year 6 credit course but I don't see why you would. I called Amcas and made sure it was OK.