Premed 101 Forums

Pre-Med interview

Guest WeirdoK13

Guest WeirdoK13

Hello Everyone!

I am a Cegep student and have my interview for McGill this May 8th. Any advice? Any tips for how to get ready for it?

thanks.

weirdoK13:b

Guest dfenst

Know yourself well. Read through your essay several times so that you remember well the experiences you wrote about, how you played a part in them... Know why you want to be a doctor. It will be asked (even though it's the most annoying question) and it's important - I would think more so for premed - to know why medicine is right for you at this point in your life. I would think that you would have to prove to the interviewer that you are committed to medicine before having done an undergrad or tried another field first.

Be confident. Walk into that interview room as though you are sooooo deserving of being there. Never put anything you've done down. If it wasn't related to medicine, make them feel like you have grown somehow from it. For example, you should have no regrets about having gone to summer camp instead of doing hospital volunteer work in cegep.

Mock interviews. I never did an official mock interview, but I did have friends ask me questions and answered them as though I was at the interview. You'll see that by having a few of these trial runs, you will come up with more concise and clear responses instead of the answers that go on, and on, and on like this one. ;)