Premed 101 Forums

McGill OOP student

Guest Vtown

Guest Vtown

Does anybody know if having an undergraduate degree from McGill increases your chances of admission as an out of province student? (ie. I'm from Ontario, but I did my BSc at McGill)

Guest medicator007

Vtown,

I would have to say no. as far as I understand all OOP applicants are evaluated using the same criterion: CGPA, MCAT, Letter and Interview irrespective of the university they attended. By the same token having ur B.Sc. from McGill and applying to the in-province competition would not give you an advantage over a Quebec resident who did his/her degree out of province.

Hope this helps!

Medicator007

• 2 weeks later...
Guest candybits

It wouldn't affect your chances, Medicator007 is right. McGill has like 2-3 spots per year offered to OOP students, I think...

As for myself, I grew up in Vancouver and lived there for 12 years before I came out to McGill for my undergrad in physical therapy and I "accidentally" became a Quebec resident without my knowledge when I had to take a year off for medical reasons. I subsequently came back to Montreal for my studies, and found out that I could pay even a lower tuition since I was not a f/t student for a continuous period of 12 months. I changed my status since then, and realized that there were many people like myself who either pursue p/t studies during their undergrad or after having graduated, lived or worked in Quebec.

All this is to say that your chances are best in your home province...

Guest Debbie

Whats your life story Candibits?

You sound like an interesting young lady

Did you do your degree part time, what did you do before your undergrad? How did you end up in Montreal, why Physical therapy.

How old are you going into med school?

Anyways Good luck to you Candibits

Guest medicator007

Candybits,