Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances?

I graduated from UofT with a cGPA of 3.6: 3.55 (1st year), 2.7 (2nd year, due to health condition, late withdrew almost all courses), 3.75 (3rd year), and 3.85 (fourth year). Science GPA is 3.7.

My MCAT score is: 32Q (12B, 11P, 9V)

I am currently doing a Master's research degree at UofT.

My non-academic components are:

Clinical: Patient helper in a hospital

Research: three summer research projects during undergrad and for master's research, I will soon start writing a paper for publication.

Extracurricular: tutor, lighting design and control for various student-run shows/dramas in undergrad, and participated in Let's Talk science program and some United Way events...

My Qs are:

1. I know that my GPA is on the low-end, so I am wondering if the U.S. schools would also look at the trend, not just the overall GPA?

2. Do U.S. schools also look at graduate work or are they only interested in my undergrad GPA?

3. Right now I am having trouble deciding which U.S. schools I should apply to. I want to apply to a lot of schools to maximize my chance, but at the same time, I want to be reasonable and not apply to schools that will definitely or very likely reject me. Right now I have 29 schools on my list:

Rosalind Franklin

Wayne State

Suny Upstate

Jefferson

Kentucky

EVMS

Tulane

Virginia Commonwealth

Dartmouth

Case Western

Maryland

Albert Eistein

Michigan State

Northwestern

Indiana

Mount Sinai

Emory

Boston

NYMC

Vanderbilt

Columbia

Washington U

George Washington

Wake Forest

Albany

NYU

Wisconsin

Meharry

Hawaii

...and I think this is too much.

So based on my GPA and MCAT scores, which of these schools would you recommand me to apply and which ones should I not apply at all? Specifically, what are my chances for schools like wayne state, rosalind franklin, Jefferson, and SUNY upstate etc?