Premed 101 Forums

What I am I supposed to do with my MSc.?

Hey Guys,

I just got into med in Alberta and I have a MSc. in biochemistry. I am curious if having a grad degree really does anything for me in medicine. I know most people do masters to get an extra point on their application, but other than the statisfaction of doing science and learning to formulate a hypothesis etc. does having a MSc. help in any career related respect?

Guest viscous
Hey Guys,

I just got into med in Alberta and I have a MSc. in biochemistry. I am curious if having a grad degree really does anything for me in medicine. I know most people do masters to get an extra point on their application, but other than the statisfaction of doing science and learning to formulate a hypothesis etc. does having a MSc. help in any career related respect?

It can give you an edge while adopting research (translational or clinical) in addition to clinical practice as a part of your career in the future. To do basic research as a MD, you'd have to finish up your PhD though in order to own a basic research lab and to get extensive fundings. I guess you could get away without a PhD if you got couple of Nature pubs as a MD.

Although many MDs do clinical and translational research without any graduate research degrees.

Thanks dreamer.

Does anyone know about residency matching and job prospects with a MSc?

I heard a lot of people are having a hard time finding jobs these days. Some doctors have told me that spealists like nephrologists and pathologists are having hard times getting jobs (even after 2 years of graduation). If those residents go into grad school within their specialty, I suppose it might help them get a job, but what about the rest of us non-traditional students who got masters first in fields we probably won't specialize in. Anyone have any comments?

• 1 month later...