Premed 101 Forums

wgpa help???

Guest Maury1274

Guest Maury1274

Anybody know if my first year in which I took 4 courses only will be included in my wgpa calculation if I am currently in 4th year and have 5 courses in all other years? In other words, do they only include years that have 5 full courses?

Guest Tanya24

Hi Maury,

Ottawa takes your 3 most recent full-time years. So, yes they will take your first year into account for the WGPA. According to the OMSAS book and Ottawa website, 5 courses are necessary for a full-time academic year. HOWEVER, myself and several others have been told my the admissions office that 4 is sufficient for a full-time year. Feel free to email them for confirmation if you wish. (not that it would make a difference at this point:b ). Seriously, it sounds like you are just fine and good luck in the application process!

Guest Maury1274

thanks a lot! that really helped...i have been trying so hard to find that out for awhile now. The only sad thing is that with my first year my wgpa is only 3.89, but without it, my wgpa is 3.97. Boy it sucks to screw up in first year. >:

Guest Kirsteen

Hi there,

If what you say is true, then your first year will be largely irrelevant in terms of the Ottawa WGPA cut-off. It's highly unlikely that the out-of-province Ottawa WGPA cut-off will soar to 3.89 (and the out-of-province cut-off is the highest of all the possible Ottawa cut-offs). The past few years, it has been hovering around 3.83, so no worries.

Cheers,

Kirsteen

Guest Adamanda

Does anyone know if ottawa only counts best 5 courses in the 3 yrs for the WGPA? In my undergrad engineering degree I took over 5...it would be nice if they dropped my worse ones!

Guest maitre gb

is there a separate gpa cut-off for out-of-province francophones (ie. one for in-province francophones and one for out-of-province francophones) or is there just one cut-off for francophones?