Premed 101 Forums

Requirement question

Guest Gem2005

Guest Gem2005

Hi everyone,

I was just wondering if anyone knows what are the specific requirements on the course load (15 full courses). You see, I am in my fourth year undergrad, and I only have one full year (5 full courses), which is this year. I am applying next fall, and will be completing my second full year next year. I have the cut-off GPA for my full year, and am pretty sure I will get it also next year. So I want to know how they will go about my situation. My overall GPA (all 4 years) is in the 3.5 range, but my full year GPA is pretty high. So if anyone has a clue about the process please let me know. Thanks!

Guest tappety tap

I think they want three FULL years(plus some pre-reqs)....but my impression is that they calculate your gpa based on the 3 most recent years regardless of whether those are the full time years. They use a weighing system where the most recent year counts for 3, then year before that counts for 2, then yr before that counts for 1...Since you will be in the middle of your year...I think they will count the year you are just finishing now as the most recent and then the two before that..

Not sure where you are from...if you are an Ottawa resident then the GPA cutoff was 3.6 this year...for everyone else it was 3.82 ....if you are aplying to the french program, it's pretty low cutoff...like 3.2 or something...

Got the info from here so you can go check it out:

www.medicine.uottawa.ca/p...2-2003.pdf

Good luck!! Ottawa has an amazing program!

Guest Gem2005

Thanks a lot Tappety Tap for you reply, it helped a lot!