Premed 101 Forums

worth to pursue a new second degree following 3 year Bsc?

Hi guys, so, I have read tons of posts here about second degrees and admissions and GPas, but now I need it to let it come to a boil in one solid pot.

So, I am a Mac student going into my third year of life sci, my program is three years, not honours. My goal, is to get into dental school, and most preferably in canada!

Unfortunately for many of us who had no motivation and clear direction of what we wanted to pursue in life as a career, we did not realize this until well its too late. My first degree is I think going to be a waste. i have like a C average and if I do two more years, in order to raise that average to competitive standards I would basically need an A in every course which is not what I am afraid of. My c average is due to well sleeping in class skipping assignments skipping class and you get the picture.

My question is should I do two more years and aim for an A average during those two years but still have those 51% grades stuck with it, or finish my 3 year degree in bsc and pursue a second degree in say UWO? the courses which I did badly in are not important courses and are probably not prereqs since the Mac life sci courses are general and lead to nothing except unemployment.

How good of a shot do I have doing a really good GPA second degree, and finishing a medicore first degree? has this actually wokred before?

Im thinking its better that if I know my end goal is to get into dental, then my resume should be respectable and not like dean of science advisor told me to just do two more years and hae a decent shot. No I want the best shot, someone said go big or go home, that is what I want I want to make sure I have a 80-90 percent chance of getting in and the only way that is likely to happen is apparently through second degree, I wanted to do a UWO degree in biology , am I right? right direction? should I follow it?