Premed 101 Forums

Just another "what are my chances" thread...

Yep, this is another "what are my chances"-type thread, I'm just hoping the collective wisdom can help me out here. I am a BC resident.

OK- started university in 1997. Did ok-ish for the 1st yr, but got an OMSAS GPA of 0.87 in the second year. No, that is not a typo. It was 1999 that I was required to withdraw.

I took a few courses here and there from then until 2004 (12 courses total) at a community college, just for fun and because I like school. I was travelling and working in the meantime. I learned a lot about life and I gained the maturity I was lacking.

I returned to school in 2007 with the intention of med school. Good work ethic, good grades, but not quite good enough, so it would seem. I took an average of 7.2 courses per term for 7 terms straight, and have a 3.6-3.7 GPA from it. It now seems that is not quite high enough. Ack. I was trying to take lots of courses to "water down" my bad marks from before, but I should have taken fewer and really aced them. I thought I was doing well, and I was, I got the highest mark in many of my hard classes. I had to take some upper-level physics, calculus, chem for my degrees, and it really shows in my GPA.

Still, I feel dumb for not seriously looking into exactly what grades you need to get in.

MCAT is a solid 10/10/13/R with the 13 in PS. I took it once before that (kind of on a whim) and got an S and 12 in VR, so I know I can do better if I retake the MCAT, I also have serious chem, orgo, physics, biol under my belt now and would do better in the other sections too were I to rewrite. I kind of want to rewrite anyways just so I can reach my goal of 35. :) I like exams, can you tell? :D

Last 2 FT years are 3.68 and 3.61. Not quite good enough for Queens even though my MCAT is (probably) good enough.