Premed 101 Forums

Questions about Referrals and Interviews

Guest UofT Student

Guest UofT Student

Hi everyone,

I am currently a first year student, and I have two questions relating to the University of Ottawa:

1. For a column like Personal Interests, Sports and Hobbies, if you do these in your spare time, how can you have a referral/reference for them?

2. Are interviews conducted on weekends or during the week?

Thank you very much in advance.

For extra-curricular activities, there is usually somebody that saw you doing the activity....coach, conductor, volunteer co-ordinator, etc. The person that you use as a verifier doesn't necessarily have to be anybody with too much authority...just somebody that honestly knows that you participated in whatever activity and can vouch for it...and it shouldn't be somebody like your mother....but it could be a team-mate, a room-mate, another volunteer, etc. Realistically, the schools do not have the time to contact every verifier for every activity for every applicant...none of my verifiers were ever contacted by any of the schools that I applied to (mind you I didn't apply to Ottawa). I think that the schools will probably only investigate 'suspicious looking' activities...like if you said that you worked with Mother Theresa for five years they might want to verify that...of if you claim to have won a Nobel prize or founded the Heart and Stroke Foundation....you get the idea. If you put down that you like to read and swim, they really aren't going to go looking for a verifier....unless you claim to have won an Olympic gold medal....

As for interviews...most schools interview on the weekends but I know that some of my friends (and some of my current classmates at UWO) interviewed at Ottawa during the week.