Premed 101 Forums

Help me find the right graduate program

Hi everyone,

I am in my last year of undergraduate studies and I have decided that I am going to do a masters before going into medical school. Medicine has always been my passion and that is something I truly want to do.

Now, I am in my 4th year and I have not yet written the MCAT. I am planning on writing it next summer. I have really thought about it and I think that right now, doing the masters is the right choice for me. I really don’t want to waste another year (write the MCAT next summer and apply in October and not have anything else to do in between).

I really don’t want to go back to do another year and I would like to move onto doing something else. I am really interested in doing a masters that is more clinical in nature (maybe requires interaction with patients and other health care professionals, something that is closely related to med and will help me in the long run in terms of being a physician. I am open to doing either a 1 year or 2 year masters. Also, I am from Ontario but I am open to moving pretty much anywhere in Canada for my masters.

I would like to know if you guys know of any grad programs or have done any grad programs similar to what I have explained or if you guys know about any other cool grad programs (even if they are not clinical/med related), let me know since I would like to keep my options open at this point. Please help me with my search for a masters program.

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

dreamformed

McGill has a professional M.Sc. in PT or OT, with a 1 yr QY, qualifying year, first. For the QY in PT you need 50 hours of having worked with a physio. I believe the courses can start in the summer and the Masters Program is a year and a half after the QY.

And then there are the MPH, some of which are one year.