Premed 101 Forums

Need advice: Woman + Career

Some might think it premature of me to be thinking of carms, since I just started first year. But let me explain why I feel the need to figure things out soon. I'm currently in a serious relationship with the woman of my dreams, and we have planned to pursue marriage as soon as logistically possible. We both go to McMaster; however, she is in her 4th year of undergrad while I am in 1st year meds.

My girlfriend has applied to medicine this year and we both believe and know that she will make a good doctor one day; however, there is no certainty as to where she will be placed (and given a poor MCAT score, she will likely need to reapply after this cycle). This means that if we were to get married soon, when I apply for residencies, I will be tied down to where she will be for medical school - i.e., if she gets into UWO, I'll have to pursue a residency at UWO. I really don't want to delay marriage by up to another 4 or 5 years for her to finish medical school.

Now, in my first few months of medical school, I've found myself attracted to competitive residencies (anaesthes, surgeries). I know that securing a position in these residencies requires intentionality, but I know that I will really only have one shot at one school when the day of reckoning comes, due to being tied to my future wife.

I'm not sure if I've clarified my dilemma here, but basically it comes down to the fact that if I narrow down my activities to pursue, say, ortho, and I don't get into the one school that my girlfriend goes to, how screwed will I be? Do I realistically have a shot at getting into other residencies at that school if all of my activities/efforts have catered to obviously gunning for a competitive program?

Any advice would be massively appreciated.