Premed 101 Forums

R score qustion for premed

Harlequin

hey everyone. if you guys don't mind please take a moment to answer some of my questions please, cuz i feel a bit depressed right now.

I'm currently a Dawson student in Health Science in my first year (going into my second semester) and I just received my R Scores. I can't say I'm happy about it.

As far as I can tell, my overall R Score is 31.432, give or take a few decimals. Its really depressing since I know the minimum to apply for premed at McGill is currently 33-34? I do realize I should have a 35 to be on the safe zone, but since I'm going to be using my 1st,second and third semester Rscores to apply, it seems impossible. I could bring my English marks up (my teacher honestly HATED me) this semester if I tried hard enough. My overal Science R score is 32.767, which is bad for someone who's trying out for premed. I have to confess, i had a hard time with Mechanics, but i'm hping i'll do good with Bio I.

So, therefore I was wondering, do you guys think it's possible to bring it up high enough to apply? I'm willing to kill myself over the next 2 semesters to bring it up high enough.

As for my ECs... I'm from an IB program High School (francophone), so I do have a variety of community service hours under my wing and I volunteer at the MUHC since secondary 4 (although I had to stop last year since CEGEP life was hectic for me, but i'll be going back). I'll be a part of the First Response Team at Dawson starting this semester, I'm part of the staff at my school gym (GST and gamestaff), i'm thinking of peer tutoring for Cal I (the one subject I excelled in) and i'm in a club that wishes to build schools in poor countries.

I hope you guys can help me and thnks for stopping by to read this post, really appreciate it.

• 2 weeks later...