Premed 101 Forums

What to include in letters to potential supervisors?

DragonX

I've finally decided to come out from just lurking and become more active around the forum! This site has been incredibly helpful for me .... thank you so much to everyone for sharing their experience and knowledge :D.

I've been told I'm on the late side for doing this, but is anyone else sending out e-mails to apply for research positons now (for the summer)? I'm fairly inexperienced at this .. I was thinking it might be neat to hear what others are including and collaborate.

Below are a list of things I've brainstormed.

-My name and contact information

-My year of study, program I'm in, courses I've taken ... a sentence or two of how I'd like to experience research firsthand and see what it's like (I have no previous experience)

-A sentence or two about the project the supervisor is working on & why I'm interested in it (to show I've taken the intiative to read about what he's researching)

-Willingness to learn & work hard/ volunteer if I can't get a paid position

This will be my first experience (if I get the opportunity) to take part in any research. I'm pretty excited :P

Does anyone have any tips? Is it better to just send e-mails or see people in person/call?

Also, is it absolutely mandetory that you include a transcript with the e-mail? I made some mistakes first year and landed some low marks in a few courses... my guess is that my transcript would do more bad than good for me.

This part is a bit more specific to UofT students.. I'm considering the ROP299 course at UofT and I know some people are contacting professors/other researchers (ie. at hospitals) that aren't on the "list" to be their supervisor. What do you write to request if they can be your supervisor for the course?

Thank you in advance for any comments :)