Premed 101 Forums

Dentistry admissions

Hey, I'm only a second year undergrad with hopes to go to dental school.

Just one concern.

In my second here (at UWO) all my science related courses have been either high 80s or 90s. However, I regretfully and stupidly took a philosophy essay class (full-year) that I'm expecting a low 60 (lol, I know....).That 60 is obviously going to bring my GPA way down. For those that have been through the admission process, how detrimental do you think that 60 will be? Will dental schools be that worried about it, if I've been getting high 80s and 90s in every other class, and if I get high GPA's in 3rd and 4th year?

Thanks

Hey, I'm only a second year undergrad with hopes to go to dental school.

Just one concern.

In my second here (at UWO) all my science related courses have been either high 80s or 90s. However, I regretfully and stupidly took a philosophy essay class (full-year) that I'm expecting a low 60 (lol, I know....).That 60 is obviously going to bring my GPA way down. For those that have been through the admission process, how detrimental do you think that 60 will be? Will dental schools be that worried about it, if I've been getting high 80s and 90s in every other class, and if I get high GPA's in 3rd and 4th year?

Thanks

well, even if u got 90s in all ur other courses, with a high 60 in a full year course u would get 3.74 for that year. since ur not getting all 90s in all ur other courses, u would be around 3.7, which isnt that high. dental schools may or may not look at that year ex. uwo only looks at best 2 years. maybe u could retake the philosophy course during the summer?

**edit: basically u wouldnt want to use that year

Also look into how UWO (or other schools of interest) evaluates courses that you took again. Im not sure if UWO does this, but I know of other schools that will take the average of the two marks.