Premed 101 Forums

Should I write the MCAT?

Guest Dr2B

Hi!

I came across this forum as I was looking up info on Candian med schools on the net. There is a lot of great info here. Anway I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice about whether or not I should write the MCAT this summer.

Here is my situation: I am 23 years old and I will be starting my second B.Sc. in the fall. My GPA from my first B.Sc. is very low, so I am hoping that by doing a second degree my chances of med school will improve. I wrote the MCAT two years ago, but I bombed the verbal section. I am registered to write it again this summer, but I am now debating whether I should. Although I started studying a few weeks ago, I don't think that I will be adaquetely prepared for the 14th, even with having a month left. I work full-time, and so I can only study ~6 hrs/day. Would it be better to write it, see how it goes, and then re-write (a third time) if it doesn't go great. Or should I only write if I am certain of getting a great score? Do med schools look down on people who have written the MCAT three times in order to get a good score?

Since I probably won't be applying for Fall 2005, since my first GPA is so bad and I will have of only completed one year of my second degrre, I am considering writing the MCAT next April (can't do it next summer b/c I will be volunteering abroad). For people who have done this, how hard is it really to write the MCAT and have finals at the same time?

Thanks for takling the time to read this. Any advice would be great.

Guest Gill0927

Hi,