Premed 101 Forums

Grad School and no publications???

I have been thinking of doing grad school and was just wondering what happens if someone is not able to get any publications? I know that med schools really stress on publications etc to assess productivity but realistically, nothing is guaranteed in science and it usually takes a long time to go through the process of getting something published.

I am just a little worried about this since I currently work in a lab and some of the grad students there have no publications (a few recently finished their masters and still no publications)......I am not planning on staying in the same lab because it is not of my area of interest but just curious about the consequences of going into graduate school before trying for med and not being able to get publications?

I would love to hear from everyone on this forum but would greatly appreciate if those who are currently in or have already completed grad school could also comment on this.

It's not just med schools. Academia in general stresses on publications. Frankly if you don't get at least one pub out of a Master's, something went wrong... make sure you choose an experienced supervisor with realistic expectations for what you will complete in your degree, and when it will be published. Talk frankly with supervisory prospects over what they expect an MSc student to leave their lab with, in terms of publications. If you can, get stuff in writing so you don't wind up like a friend of mine with a PhD supervisor who won't let her publish in "minor" (ie. top of her field but not pan-topical) journals, nothing less than Nature.