Premed 101 Forums

So... I'm an SFU student. What's a competitive GPA?

(I know there's a thread on SFU students and UBC medicine already, but I thought I'd start one to discuss target GPA specifically...)

If I'm an SFU student on the 4.33 scale, taking the recent changes to the AQ formula into account, what do you think is a good GPA range to be competitive? Is 3.8 good enough, or am I going to need 3.9-4.0 or even >4.0?

I've heard so many difference stories... one girl in my Kaplan course told me if I'm coming from SFU a 4.1 would be averagely competitive, while another guy in my organic chemistry class told me a 3.8 should be good enough! Of course there's tons of variables (lets assume "good" but not outstanding ECs, same for MCAT). What's your opinion?

(I know there's a thread on SFU students and UBC medicine already, but I thought I'd start one to discuss target GPA specifically...)

If I'm an SFU student on the 4.33 scale, taking the recent changes to the AQ formula into account, what do you think is a good GPA range to be competitive? Is 3.8 good enough, or am I going to need 3.9-4.0 or even >4.0?

I've heard so many difference stories... one girl in my Kaplan course told me if I'm coming from SFU a 4.1 would be averagely competitive, while another guy in my organic chemistry class told me a 3.8 should be good enough! Of course there's tons of variables (lets assume "good" but not outstanding ECs, same for MCAT). What's your opinion?

hey tech,

i'm not an expert on this and i'm sure other people will want to give a more detailed answer... but the first thing is UBC uses GPA... SFU uses 4.33 so the basic idea is to have a gpa above the minimum 75% to garner a full file review. at that point you are at the very least minimally competitive.