Premed 101 Forums

Dream is over?!

I am currently in my first year of university and am aiming to become a family physician. Coming from Regina (In province candidate:D ), I had no idea that I could have taken English or Physics in the summer. I was ravaged by these subjects and will possibly end up with an 80-82% for a first year average. :( My question is should I quit my dream of being a physician or could my grades improve next year (I am following the BMSC core platform) :confused: As well I am looking at some electives to take, namely: Econ 111, Econ 114, Phil 234, Nut 120, Arch 112, Anth 111, Medical Terminology, Psy 110, any help in which classes could potentially boost my mark will be greatly appreciated.

WOW!!!! DONT QUIT

Honestly although your first year grades matter, they are not the be-all-end-all of getting into med school. Many med schools drop your worst year, I think U of S takes your two best years.

In my first year I got only a 3.45 on a 4.0 scale (not sure what that is in percent, but not amazing) and it didn't seem to hurt me when it came to interviews.

Don't forget that there is a subjective component to some medical schools gpa calculation- ie: a person that took "more difficult" classes and 5 classes per semester will probably score better than a person that took 3 classes per semester of options... and left their harder classes for the summer