Premed 101 Forums

Guess my Academic Score!

Hey guys, I'm trying to figure out what my chances are of getting into U of C as an in-province applicant. Given these grades, what do you think my academic score would be?

cGPA: 3.46

last 2 years GPA: 3.95

Graduate school GPA: 4.0

Also I'm not sure how much weight is put into the subjective section of this calculation, but I graduated with a bachelor in science with honors and distinction (BIOC major) and also completed a Masters degree in Biochemistry.

Thanks for your input!

Plastic

Is the last two years part of ur undergrad or grad school? If ugrad then ur transcript obv shows an upward trend, and when u apply u can place a short explanation of why ur first couple years werent great. In this case you are likely to receive a good academic score. U ip or oop? Also depends on the courseload in the good years.

Hey,

Well technically my graduate studies were my last 2 years; however, I only took 1 course per year for a total of 2 courses. My last 2 years of undergraduate studies, I took a full course load and had a 3.95 GPA. My first 2 years of undergrad were quite horrific academically as I was much more interested in the social side of University.

Edit: I am applying as an in-province student.

Thanks for your input.

Plastic

What course did you take when your GPA was 3.46 and what were the courses with 3.95? I think they look into the courses as well -- difficulty, and how well they prepare you for medicine. For example, calculus vs. physiology.

I am guessing you probably have a lot of biochem... I'd say alteast 39 or 40, especially given the masters.

What course did you take when your GPA was 3.46 and what were the courses with 3.95? I think they look into the courses as well -- difficulty, and how well they prepare you for medicine. For example, calculus vs. physiology.

I am guessing you probably have a lot of biochem... I'd say alteast 39 or 40, especially given the masters.