Premed 101 Forums

Writing Sample Ideas

Guest MisterTurkey

Guest MisterTurkey

Does anyone know of any good sources that will help in brainstorming examples for the MCAT writing sample?

As a science student, I can honestly say that political science & historical examples don't instantly spring to mind when I sit down to write an essay. I know that in-depth knowledge is not required to write a good MCAT essay, but concrete examples most definitely are! The problem is simply digging them out of my brain...anyone got a spoon?

Guest paulyg23

I found that to write a good essay, use really simple examples. You'd be surprised how simple you can be and still do well. When I first started to study, I was trying to memorize quotes and do the "quickfix approach". Later I realized that if you pick a personalized example to relate to the essay topic you can write a stronger essay. For example, one of the essay topics had something to do with technological advancement and positive advancement. For this I used examples of my experiences with internet banking and email (and did well). So I think the scorers just want you to write something interesting but nothing over your head. I hope that makes sense.

Guest joey greaseball

hi mister turkey,

i'm a science student also, but i love to read. my biggest source of writing sample ideas comes just from reading books. even in fiction, you tend to come across ideas and sometimes historical facts that can be used in essays. my favorite novels, for example, are the hardy boys series. those boys frank and joe really get into a lot of debauchery! but they manage to come out on top. their experiences really lend themselves to strong literary examples that you can use. i really hope that helps.

joey

p.s. if you want to email me we could talk some more about this and other stuff.

Guest aneliz