Premed 101 Forums

How to succeed in pharmacy school

Now that I have officially passed all my courses, I thought I'd give some unsolicited advice. I don't claim to have succeeded, and it is not my intention to brag about my meager accomplishments. Since I graduated from U of T, this may have an Ontario slant... I'm assuming here that you do not intend to use pharmacy as a spring board to other professions

How to succeed in pharmacy school

First and foremost: You must like people. If you don't like people, and got into pharmacy, then learn to like people, or at least pretend, with consistency, to like people. Otherwise your patient won't have good care, you won't be happy being bugged by patients all the time... generally bad stuff all around.

1. Apply to a good school

You want to look for a school that will give good experiential opportunities. That is probably more important than how many of your prof have won the nobel prize

2. Make friends

These are people who will be your future colleagues. They may recommend you for jobs... collaborate with you on business plans... you can collaboratively study with them, and get past year notes from their friends!

3. Stop caring so much about grades

There's a running joke in pharmacy... what do you call a person who graduated from the program with a 60% average (that's the minimum to pass), and almost failed their board exam? A pharmacist!

Community pharmacy will almost never care about your grades (the almost is there in case someone does ask. Personally, I haven't heard anyone requiring it). Hospital residencies will ask for a transcript to make sure you aren't failing, and your are doing OK in the "important" courses. Pharmacy is pretty much a good time to relax, work together with people, and really focus on what you should learn. That brings me to the next point....

4. Know which courses are important aka care about grades selectively