Premed 101 Forums

Re-write MCATs?

Guest mta guy

Guest mta guy

hi all,

I've reading through the messages on the board (btw. Ian, this is a MUCH better board, thanks). Well, I have a decision to make. I believe that I already know the answer, but I just wanted to see what you guys have to say. I'm currently in third year I wrote the August MCATs and I did worse than I thought (coming out of the test) I had a 9V, 7P, 8B. I can apply to the schools that don't require the MCATs and to Dal. My GPA is not stellar (approx 3.6) I will be working on my honours project this summer as well as take a summer course, start the applications' prep. along with the MCAT prep...a very busy summer as you can see. I just don't know if my marks will improve or not after writing the test. the Test, I've found is a major committment of time and energy, so I'm not taking the decision lightly (not to mention the associated costs!)

What do you guys think?

mta guy

mta,

i'm writing my mcat this summer after one year of university & while working a full time research job at the u of a, so i think i understand what you mean about a "busy" summer... i know the U of A's policy on MCATs is "nothing less than 7", and you have achieved that, so if your 3.6 average makes their cut-offs, you might get an interview. Check: www.registrar.ualberta.ca...mpare.html to convert all your current marks to a 9 point mark and then calculate the average (full year courses count twice as much as 1/2 year, and they don't look at summer courses unless they are prereq's)... simply using a final average of 3.6 in the grid won't work... I have heard of people getting into U of A with GPAs of 7.7 & up (this gives me *so* much hope), so it's worth your best shot...

As for rewriting the MCATs, I don't have much advice to give you... I get such butterflies in my stomach at the thought of the up & coming August exam that I can't imagine anyone wanting to do it twice...

good luck,

EB

UG1, Edmonton