Premed 101 Forums

Physics and Calc

Guest Clairisa

Guest Clairisa

Hello all,

I am curious about how much physics is on the MCAT. I took a college physics course intended to prep one for 1st yr phys. I have yet to take 1st yr physics and it doesn't look as though I am going to be taking it before MCAT time. Can the info for the physics section be self taught? I have a couple review books and am contemplating taking either Kaplan or Princeton (both are offered relatively close to my house). (Also any recommendations on which course is better would be appreciated).

Another question I have is what kind of Math can be expected on the MCAT? I have yet to take first yr Calc and I am wondering if this is going to be a problem?

Thanks for any insight offered :)

Clairisa

Guest YongQ

Hi Clairisa,

You definitely need first-year physics for the MCAT. There are things about fluid motion and other mechanical topics (specific gravity, Bernoulli, etc.) that just aren't covered in detail in previous courses. Regarding the course you took, I don't know how much it covered, but to get an idea of how prepared you are, I suggest you take a look at the AAMC MCAT Outline of topics covered (it's also up on the net, just follow the link below). Another thing you could do is look at the formula sheet they have on the same page and see how many of those look foreign to you. About calculus, don't worry about it. There's NO calculus on the MCAT!

BTW guys, I haven't checked if this is on Ian's links list, but this is an little MCAT resource page that I found extremely useful when preparing.

www.geocities.com/mcatest/

It also has a list of cute PS and BS mnemonics! Edit: oops also forgot to mention that of the review books you have, I really hope you have the AAMC Practice Tests and Practice Items, they're the more useful.

Guest MEDCOMPSCI

You do NOT need first year physics to do well on the MCAT exam. In fact, you do not even need OAC physics!