Premed 101 Forums

KAPLAN QUESTIONS REPRESENTATIVE OF MCAT?

Guest rainnoodle

Guest rainnoodle

Hi I am studying for the Mcat this augest, and Im just wondering....are the sample questions in the Kaplan Comprehensive Book very similar to the acutal ones in the Mcat?

Someone told me to be wary...some say that different companies (like Berkely, Arco, Columbia) produce questions that are NOT similar to the ones in the real Mcat, so its not worth trying...any thoughts? Thanks!

Rainy

Guest Ian Wong

There are definitely MCAT books out there that suck. I can't remember off-hand the name of the one I bought, but this particular book was put together by people that have probably never even seen a real MCAT. The kicker was one question that asked you to calculate Sine 76 degrees, or something like that, and all the multiple choice answers were so close together that you could never estimate it. In other words, you needed a calculator to figure out the answer, but calculators are forbidden in the MCAT!

The best questions are going to be the sample questions put out by the AAMC, and you can get to their MCAT web-site using the link at the top of this forum. I found the Gold Standard questions to be fairly similar, although when I wrote the MCAT, I thought the Gold Standard questions were actually a little more difficult than the real thing.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest YongQ

Yeah Ian, I've seen that one floating around.

It's called "The Best Prep Guide to the MCAT" or something very close to that. It's a very thick book with pages that are smaller then 8 1/2 by 11, I don't know their real sizes exactly.

Listen, folks, NEVER buy this book! Even if you see it at the library, don't even look at it! The authors of it are :evil

:)