Premed 101 Forums

What are my chances?

I am a third year undergrad with a 3.84 GPA. My last MCAT score was 31N. For EC, I have two summers of research experience with no publication, lots of hospital volunteering but no shadowing, a few leadership positions for school clubs, and some minor music pursuit.

I am applying to a number of Canadian schools this year, but I'm wondering if it is worth applying to the US. If so, what are some schools that I may have a decent shot at? Thanks!

Considering that you have a solid GPA, and your EC's are decent, I would apply to the US early and broadly. The only thing that may hold you back is the M, but I'm not sure how significant that is when applying to American medical schools. I'm sure someone on here will give you much better advice than me:p

I am a third year undergrad with a 3.84 GPA. My last MCAT score was 31N. For EC, I have two summers of research experience with no publication, lots of hospital volunteering but no shadowing, a few leadership positions for school clubs, and some minor music pursuit.

I am applying to a number of Canadian schools this year, but I'm wondering if it is worth applying to the US. If so, what are some schools that I may have a decent shot at? Thanks!

Are you going to third or fourth year in September 2011? You can only apply to US in the final year if I understand it correctly?

Applied last year with 3.8 AMCAS GPA and 30 R MCAT with a similar personal profile. Received only one interview out of 12 schools which resulted in a wait list.

I think you need more than 32 MCAT and definitely above average personal profile. You should look through accepted/rejected thread! I believe people who were successful with <31 MCAT had either GPA>3.95 or had much longer life experiences aided by years of work or graduate school.

Thank you both for helping!