Premed 101 Forums

Confusing Situation Academic score

Hi all, I'm a science student in an honors degree at u of c entering 4th year. My GPA for the past three years as been 3.01, 3.17, and 3.50 with a full course load every semester. For the upcoming cycle, what would my academic score be roughly (/50)? Is it even possible to discern at this point? In addition, assuming I do well in the upcoming year, how would an A range academic year affect me in that catagory for the following cycle?

I ask these questions because i constantly worry that i'll never get into medical school because of my rough GPA. My extracurricular activities and research experience has been bountiful for a 20 year old, including a solid MCAT score (33Q), and references being up to par with other applicants. The only question is my gpa. How would i fare?

thanks for your time everyone. The support and feedback here has always been incredible.

Your fourth year marks won't affect the academic calculation. As for the GPA, depends on your program (What department in science), the courses load (full meaning how many courses), the courses (evolution vs. physiologies, biochemistries), etc. So without that information, its hard to predict a score. My question would be why has the GPA not improved to >3.7? If I had to predict, lowest would be 30 and highest would be 35.

Academic: 30-35

MCAT: ~ 10 (check the manual for the exact number):

Application: It's all about how you word your top five activities, the number of hours put into the activities..

References: need to be excellent.

* All based on previoius years formulas (things may change this cycle, though I doubt it).

Your have a low chance, but none the less a chance (and thats all that matters). Make sure you spend time on making a killer app and getting amazing reference (if you can only get 2, then go with that, and get some lazy person as the 3rd so he won't end up writing the letter).