Premed 101 Forums

Non-Trad MCAT discussion

Hey everyone,

Please forgive me if this is an unecessary new thread, I'm still quite new here :D .

I was wondering how all of you in grad school, full-time careers and etc managed to study for and write the MCAT despite your busy schedules?

I took the Princeton Review's online correspondence course over the summer and had a challenging time keeping up with the classes let alone completing homework and writing practice MCATs. Perhaps this could be because I took Chem, Physics and Bio over 4 years ago and never took a full year of orgo chem. Advice and personal stories would be greatly appreciated!

I'm non-trad and currently studying for the MCAT. I graduated from Uni in 2004 and was a business major. There are no prep courses (aside from online) where I live so all of my studying has been self-directed. I'm lucky in that my contract at work provides for summers off so I have been studying full-time snce the end of June for a september 10th MCAT. Most of my studying is based on examkrackers but I also have borrowed high school chem, physics and bio textbooks and have covered the majority of those as well because I didn't study sciences in university. I am finding that the majority of the topics were covered in high school and I vaguely remember them from those courses. So far I am averaging 7-8 in each of the science sections and 12s in VR. As long as I get 8s on the real thing I will qualify for U of S. I'm also planning to apply to U of C this cycle. If my MCAT is good enough I will apply to Dal next year and also NOSM. U of C is really my first choice though because I have two small children and a husband who will be relocating with me and we would like to be closer to family. Plus I'm 30 so the 4 years compressed into 3 also appeals to me, as does the delivery of their program.