Premed 101 Forums

Going back to do science pre-reqs only?

Hello,

I graduated with a BA (Hons) with a high GPA in December 2009. I've always had an interest in health, but more from a social perspective. Only about 1.5 years ago did I decide to pursue medicine. I will be applying to three medical schools this Fall - all of which do not require science pre-reqs.

I am wondering if I should take some science courses next Spring. 1) It would help prepare me for studying medicine, and 2) if I don't get in this round, then I might be able to apply to more schools next time around (plus do significantly better on the science sections of the MCAT).

1) Do science courses have to be part of a degree in order to qualify as pre-reqs?

2) If I go back to take say 4-8 science courses as a non-degree student, would most medical schools include the GPA of those courses into their GPA calculations? (I am worried that it might lower my GPA)

3) Has anyone done the same? If yes, how many science courses would you recommend taking in one semester?

Thanks.

Hello,

I graduated with a BA (Hons) with a high GPA in December 2009. I've always had an interest in health, but more from a social perspective. Only about 1.5 years ago did I decide to pursue medicine. I will be applying to three medical schools this Fall - all of which do not require science pre-reqs.

Congratulations on your interest in medicine! You mentioned you decided 1.5 years ago that you wanted to pursue medicine, have you done anything in those 1.5 years? What I mean to ask is if you've enrolled in a post bacc certification, or volunteer, or things of that nature.

I am wondering if I should take some science courses next Spring. 1) It would help prepare me for studying medicine, and 2) if I don't get in this round, then I might be able to apply to more schools next time around (plus do significantly better on the science sections of the MCAT).