Premed 101 Forums

Mature Student and EC

Hi,

I was wondering if I could get some opinions. I always wanted to do med, but life got in the way, and pushed me off track slightly. I'm now looking at applying in the next couple of years, and working on getting everything in order. I have two under grad degrees already (science and then commerce) with my GPA being 8.4 (out of 9 - yes, I'm that old ;) ) and then 3.85 (out of 4) respectively. I am currently studying for the MCAT, with plans to write in the new year. I've been working the last few years, for a few different companies, in the business side of the science field. I also have my own business, that I run in addition to working full time. Also, I have a family, two small children (an a very supportive husband).

I'm worried about EC. I don't have a lot of really current volunteer type things, and as much as I hate to say it, I don't have the time to go and start volunteering in a hospital for example. My evenings are weekends are filled with kids swimming lessons, or dance classes. For some of the older non-traditional applicants, specifically those with families, what did you do for your EC section of your application?

Thanks!

Good for you for following your dreams. As with many of us non-trads its realizing that where we are at in life isnt exactly how we envisioned our careers to pan out.