Premed 101 Forums

Music Majors

Guest music

Guest Ian Wong

Thought I'd pick up your question. There is a student in the class below me who was a music major before getting accepted to med school. However, I believe that these folks are few and far between simply because there's a pretty significant gulf between the courses you would traditionally take in a music degree, and those science courses that are used for med school pre-reqs and in preparation for the MCAT.

I'd say she's probably one of the very few, if not the only music major in UBC med currently.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

I have a music degree under my belt, as well as theology and a B.A. in Social Development Studies (interdisciplinary social work focus). Yep, three bachelor degrees (plus my ARCT), and I'm going back for more! After high school, I chose university courses that I was really interested in, and which also gave me some options for my future career direction. For various reasons, I have chosen to change my career path and head toward medicine as my ultimate goal.

I want to encourage those choosing undergrad courses to diversify and add humanities to your pre-reqs. There are just so many fascinating and enjoyable courses out there, and your undergrad years are the ones when you have the opportunity to branch out and explore a variety of studies. When you get to your honours thesis or possible Masters degree, you need to hone in on your chosen academic subject, and certainly by the time you're in med school, you have less time for other (academic) interests. Contrary to popular opinion, university is not just the means to getting a good job! It's about exploring the world, making yourself a better and more interesting person, and enveloping yourself in the sheer love of acquiring new knowledge. (Besides, admissions committees seem to look for individuals who stand out from the generic scientific crowd, and who have developed their own pursuits and passions.)