Premed 101 Forums

I Need Help with information on Pre-med and highschool

Guest foxyleadragon

Guest foxyleadragon

Hi my name is Ashlea and I am currently in grade twelve at an ontario highschool. Throughout highschool I have been taking courses to enter into an undergraduate program which would lead me to a career in law, and therefore eliminated my sciences. Now I find myself in a predicament, because of a series of events which recently happened, I have really been considering going into medicine, but I have no scientific background. I can do science, and I did get good grades when I took it. I have thought of upgrading my courses, but I have a problem in that they have change the curriculum in Ontario highschools, and I am on the old curriculum where as the year under is on the new curriculum, and there is no cross curriculum allowed. Does anyone have any advice, or know of any ways that I can get my sciences so that I can still go into pre med.

thanks for your time

ashlea

Guest Ian Wong

Med schools don't care which courses you've taken in high school; in fact, they won't even ask which you ended up taking. :)

As long as your university courses match the required courses, you'll therefore be okay, which means that you don't even need to do a science undergraduate degree to get into med school. You might want to visit the websites of the med schools that you might be interested in attending (premed101.com/medschools.html), and see what sorts of sciences courses they might require.

There's some additional information in the Premed101.com FAQ, which is located at the top message of this forum.

Ian

UBC, Med 3

Guest Liana