Premed 101 Forums

Masters in Physiology vs. PT

Hi everyone,

I graduated from U of T last year with a cGPA of 3.52 on OMSAS scale and the GPA breakdown is as follows: 1st year: 3.17, 2nd year (4.5 courses): 3.27, 3rd year: 3.92 and 4th year: 3.89). Currently, I am taking an year off and preparing for MCAT which I will be writing this Jan. and thinking of taking some prereq courses for US med schools starting next semester (Jan 2012) and will apply to both Canadian and US schools next year. I am also thinking of applying to PT this year since I don't want to waste the time in between. I am also enrolled in masters in physiology which I can start this Jan., but I don't think it will take me anywhere and neither would it make any significant improvement in my application (except at U of T may be).

To do some degree in that one or two years I will have, I am debating between PT or masters in physiology. Personally, I am inclined towards PT since its a professional grad unlike physiology masters, but I am not sure how will med. schools look at it? Also, I have heard that people get asked a lot of questions about their professional grad programs during the interviews and why do they still want to get into med? I am really scared since I don't want it to be working against me, although I see it clearly has an advantage over masters since its professional at least. What would you suggest I should do?

Any input will be greatly appreciated!

I'd say do PT. It gives you a very solid back-up for meds. An MSc these days is useful, but with the job market crap, if meds doesn't work out, your options aren't going to be as secure as with a PT degree.

I don't think any adcom would have a problem with it at all. It asked, you can explain that it's a backup, it interests you and still allows you to work in the healthcare field if meds doesn't happen. Personally, I'd say that would make your application stronger, not weaker.