Premed 101 Forums

SMP for Canadians worthwhile?

ryanmtl

Hey everyone,

I had posted this question in another forum and realized it's probably better suited here...

I'm trying to come up with a backup plan, in case I don't get accepted to any med schools next application cycle and I happened to read about SMPs in the US and was wondering if they were a good option for Canadians? What I mean is, given their cost vs the statistics of Canadians accepted at American allopathic schools (not very good), will a SMP really give a Canadian applicant an edge in getting an acceptance to an American allopathic school?

The alternative to an SMP for me would be an Irish medical school, and given what I've read regarding the residency situation for IMGs, this route is looking less and less attractive

Any thoughts??? Thanks.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey,

I was deciding the same thing in my 4th year of undergrad in Canada. I graduated in 2010 and ended up going to RFUMS' BMS program. It was the best decision I ever made.

You take 4 medical school courses with Chicago Medical School students (so if you get in, you get a relaxed 1st year of medical school where you are free to puruse yet another masters) You are also granted an automatic interview with Chicago Medical School (the medical school at RFUMS) given that you hand in your AMCAS on time.

RFUMS has the best special masters program in all of North America in terms of the number of students who end up getting into medical school, last year about 90 out of 110 students (myself included) got into CMS. Which SMP can boast those stats??

Chicago Medical School had the highest board scores of any medical school in Illinois (beating Northwestern, UChicago) and has an awesome match list.