Premed 101 Forums

EC's Graduate Students

I am a first year graduate student and looking to start some EC's. I have a lot of EC's from undergrad (mostly research related, various part time jobs, hospital volunteering, student mentoring, student clubs etc) but I ended all of those when I finished my undergraduate degree. Now that I am in graduate school, I want to do some EC's. I am required to be in the lab everyday (9-5pm) and I am looking for ideas on what kind of activities I could do. I don't want to just study and focus on research (those are important) but I also want to get involved in other things. Most of my previous EC's (research and part time jobs) were paid positions and I can't do those anymore. With my strict schedule, I am looking for something with flexibility. I am also interested in doing something that would help me build on my leadership skills since I don't have any activities to show leadership.

Basically, I am just looking for some ideas on what other people have been/are involved with while in graduate school or even a full time job with a strict schedule.

I started taking violin lessons during the last year of my PhD, and it was really fun and a great distraction from academics (and it was flexible enough to fit into my crazy schedule). I didn't put it on my med school applications because I had only been doing it for a few weeks when I was applying, but lots of people put music lessons on their applications.

Make sure you pursue some ECs that actually interest you .... with effectively a '9-5' job as a graduate student it would suck to use the little time in the evening you have left to do things that you dont enjoy just because they would 'look good' on your application.

What interests do you have? or have you been doing what others want or what you think an admissions committe would like to see for so long that you are not sure of what you enjoy?:)

Beef