Premed 101 Forums

Research Project: Perceptions of the Admissions Process

Guest PeterHill0501

Guest PeterHill0501

Good morning everyone,

Many of you may know me from posts I have made in this forum. Aside from being an applicant, I am a seasoned market researcher.

After having gone through the admissions process, I realize that Canadian universities could greatly benefit from understanding how the admissions process affects candidates, how it could be made better and more comfortable/palatable for candidates to go through, and how through an understanding of factors driving candidate decisions, they could present a more desireable image to candidates with the ultimate goal of attracting more top talent to their med school programs.

Over the course of the next few months I will be collecting data from a variety of sources and would like candidates who frequent this site to have an opportunity to participate. I'm interested in getting feedback from candidates who have been accepted...those who have received rejections...those who have received interviews...those who have not...I'm interested in opinions of any candidates who have applied to ANY Canadian school, regardless of which school they have applied to, or whether they have received multiple offers or none. Any feedback you provide, like the posts in this forum, would be completely anonymous.

While I realize some people may be uncomfortable posting information in a public forum, please feel free to e-mail me directly from an anonymous account to provide feedback. If you click on my login name, you will see my private e-mail address.

My intention is to analyze all the data collected from candidates across the country, summarize it and publish it in the CMAJ and/or other major Canadian medical publications.

Here is some of the information that I am looking for in order to complete the first phase of this qualitative research:

Goals of the Research/Publication: