Premed 101 Forums

*The GMAT: Mixing MD with MBA

Guest Ian Wong

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*Carse, Can UG4

Date:***2/6/2001 3:59 pm*PST

I am a student who applied to a few med schools this year, but I am also considering an MBA. I haven't talked to anybody who has written the MCAT and the GMAT, and since you're an MBA student applying to med school I'm assuming that you have.

I'm just wondering how similar the sections are between the tests. i.e. is the GMAT verbal section very similar to the MCAT verbal reasoning, as well as the written sections. The reason I ask is because I am curious as to whether my MCAT scores on those sections would be predictive of how well I would do on the GMAT. Did you do better on one than the other? I would greatly appreciate any advice that you may have. Thanks!

Guest Ian Wong

Author:*Kirsteen, Can MBA

Date:***2/7/2001 7:58 am*PST

Hello Carse,

Were you aware that some schools offer a joint, MBA/MD programme? I believe that McGill is presently the only Canadian university which does (a few US universities, e.g., UCLA do) but also, UofT is seriously considering starting its own MBA/MD programme. If you are interested in this approach, take a look at McGill's MBA/MD website, which is useful (sorry, I don't have the address offhand, but you can easily spring to it from the McGill Faculty of Medicine site).

As to the GMAT, I wrote it once, in 1997, for entry into my 1998 MBA programme at Queen's (since completed). The exam that I wrote marked the last of the traditional, paper GMATs. This format has since been superceded by the CAT (Computer-Assisted Test). Unfortunately, I am not too familiar with the CAT, although I do know that it covers the same areas as its predecessor, but unlike its predecessor and the current MCAT, it may be taken at any time (as opposed to only twice per year).