Premed 101 Forums

masters or 2nd undergrad?

let me start off by saying that ive already read other threads

i just want an opinion on my own situation.

im a 4th year undergraduate student.

I wasnt aware of the policy some schools have about having a full course load ( like UWO and U of T)

and so i took summer courses and didnt take a full coruse load (4 classes a term) in my 2nd and 3rd year

I have a decent MCAT score ( 34p) and my GPA should be around 3.6 after this term. I have decent EC's and good references

now i dont think im going to get into med school this year so im trying to decide what to do next year.

my two options are to either go for a second undergrad or get a masters.

I was just wondering which option would increase my chances of getting into med school more ( assuming that i do well grade wise)

Also do any schools consider your grades in a masters program? ( i know some of them give you a +.2 to your GPA if you have a masters)

And does it matter what subject you do your second undergrad in? does it matter which university you do it at?

Thanks in advance

Are you sure you can get consistently better (>3.8, hopefully more like 3.9) marks?

Take a look through the sticky to see which schools will only take your second UG/best years into consideration (or like Ottawa will weight your more recent courses more). Those are the schools where a second UG will benefit. A school like UofT will still consider all your marks and because you didn't take full course loads they won't apply the weighting formula.

A grad degree will help with other career prospects should med school not work out. However, some schools who give a 0.2 boost to GPA only do so if your UG GPA meets the cutoffs.

It doesn't matter what your second UG is in, or where you do it. Western has their 3/5 requirement, but rumor has it that they are changing their policy so no idea what they'll require down the road.