Premed 101 Forums

MCAT and Non-Traditional Student

Hi,

I am in mid 30's and came to terms that I need to pursue my childhood dream of becoming a doctor. That is what I always wanted and did try it out when I was a student back in the country I was born. Due to several political situations of the country could not get in.... Long story short, went out totally in a different path but never found peace with what I have been doing.

Anyways, Finally decided that I wont be at peace until I achieve this and I still have some time to give it a shot. I am working, 2 kids-older one in elementary school... So, gave myself a year to prepare for MCAT while I get my degrees evaluated. I started preparing this january (2012) for MCAT and planning to give take the exam in March 2013 to apply for universities in 2013 Sept aiming admission in 2014 (sounds ambitious)

So here's finally my questions from folks who have been in the same boat as I am

- Did I give myself enough time or too much time?

- What should I watch out for?

- Is there any MCAT prep courses that start in Dec of the year?

- Should I start the prep course now or should I first prepare a base for myself and learn the fundamentals first

- Should I write MCAT immediately after the prep course?

-

I know I want to do this but the journey is what is a little intimidating... I will get a lot of motivation as I hear from you all..

Thanks

Thanks for your quick response... I am in Calgary and probably the only university I will apply is U of C. I have a science degree but its been 15 yrs since I last attended any science subject (physics, chemistry, OC, Bio). However when I started studying , it seemed like i was getting it back fast.

My family is settled... and wont be moving around... So it would be only U of C

Yes, Lucky me that way... I did go over their websites, application processes etc, yes you are right VR is quite important here... But Should I ignore the rest? Cannot right?