Premed 101 Forums

DH student wanting to become an MD

I originally signed up for this forum intending to know more info about dentistry applications, but I feel that my desire to become an MD has been stronger than ever and I would definitely be taking the non-traditional route if I want to get there, so here goes:

I am 22 y/o, graduating from a BSc in June 2012. I finished a dental hygiene diploma in 2011.

My GPA (U of A scale) is as follows:

1st year: 3.3

2nd year: 3.5

3rd year (1st year hygiene): 3.1

4th year (2nd year hygiene): 3.5

5th year (3rd year hygiene): 1st sem: 4.0, 2nd sem: (currently taking a 100-level physics course to satisfy the U of A pre-req, and failing miserably at it)

I have 2 years of research experience (within the last two years), presented posters, and currently working on publishing a paper (not first author) this year. Both my research topics revolved around dentistry.

Volunteering-wise, I am currently an exec for 2 student groups. I am an in-school mentor and have also volunteered at the U of A hospital. I am planning on joining a dental mission overseas this summer.

I took the DAT once in 2010, got average marks and being the naive and irrational person that I was, applied to dent schools across Canada twice. Did not land a single interview. After putting much thought to it, I tried to reassure myself that perhaps there is something better for me out there, and if I really wanted to get into dent *that* bad I would've taken the DAT again to get better marks.

So, why med school? All I know is that I have wanted to become a doctor all my life, but suffered from a terrible case of non-existent self-confidence. I always settled for my plan B's in hopes that I could use them as stepping stones to reach my ultimate goal, when I should have done it the other way around. :(

Anyway, no time for regrets. I know I need to keep persevering. At this point, I am just at a loss of what I should do.